Contemporary Recordings

Domenico Scarlatti Sonatas and a Fandango

Rafael Puyana harpsichords

SCS 030/031/032

Rafael Puyana’s performances of the sonatas for harpsichord by Domenico Scarlatti are widely accepted as a landmark in the history of Scarlatti playing of the 20th century and continues to be so, into the 21st. Such an accomplishment was achieved by him over a lifetime of passionate dedication and tireless research. A previous version of his recordings of the Scarlatti sonatas had already been considered a “reference” in this field in a review of 1985, signed by Jean Dupart. That same year, Puyana had been the chosen harpsichordist and was filmed performing several sonatas for two documentary films, one produced by the BBC, in association with RM Arts, and the other by the Radio Televisión Española, to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the Neapolitan composer’s birth. Amongst the numerous recognitions received, King Juan Carlos of Spain bestowed on him the Order of Isabel la Católica, for his contributions to early and contemporary Spanish keyboard music.

Related products

Catalog - Collections

View All

The SanCtuS-Puyana Collection

Historical Recordings

Nelson Freire

Contemporary Recordings

SanCtuS Recordings © 2023 /
All rights reserved